Skip to content

“Are You Smarter than a 5th Grader?” student spotted on Silverman show

March 9, 2007

I figured this was coming soon. I’ve already written about how FOX’s Are You Smarter Than a 5th Grader? class of students was chosen from a pool of child actors.

Laura Marano (FOX)Now, it’s confirmed, as one of the kids was spotted on The Sarah Silverman Program this season (Episode 104 to be exact). There goes the careful-crafted PR bubble…

One of the two girls on the game show’s panel, Laura, is listed this way in the FOX site’s bio:

Laura, an 11-year-old 5th grader from Los Angeles, CA, loves all school subjects and consistently gets great grades. She has also proven to be quite the matchmaker; she has successfully helped more than one happy couple find love.

Though, thanks to game show eagle-eye BuzzerBlog, the student has been outed as pro child actor Laura Marano.

Laura Marano plays Young Sarah on the show, and also has guest appearances on Dexter, Without a Trace, and Ghost Whisperer.

More, including a video clip, after the jump…

Here’s the clip of Marano in action, via YouTube (warning: PG-13 language):

Hmmm….wonder what the rest of the cast has been on? The only other details of the class members I could find was about the other girl, Alana Ethridge, whose cached resume included assorted roles in commercials, TV, theater and film. (Kyle Collier, Jacob Hays, and Spencer Martin had nothing listed through Google that I could find.)

Again, no big deal, as we’ve already explained. But this doesn’t change the fact that FOX keeps on publicizing this show as if the cast of kids are actual fifth-graders in interviews with host Jeff Foxworthy. And the show keeps on cruising in the ratings, thanks to its spot next to American Idol.

For more on why this child-actor hiring doesn’t matter and is not illegal, check out the in-depth analysis we did here. And visit here for the full review of the show.

10 Comments
  1. 5thGradeMom permalink
    March 11, 2007 11:25 am

    Jacob was on Disney’s “Really Short Report.”
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Disney's_Really_Short_Report.

    Have you noticed the earpieces in the kid’s ears?

  2. Roger permalink
    March 11, 2007 9:23 pm

    Jacob Hayes stars in Disney Channel’s Really Short Report.

  3. March 12, 2007 6:10 am

    Thanks Mom and Roger for your eagle-eyed catches on Jacob!

  4. March 23, 2007 1:51 pm

    hi i just wanted to say taht i love your show and i would like to sign my child jordan up for ARE YOU SMARTER THAT A FIFTH GRADER.she is in fifth grade at Lugoff Elementary which is in SC.please let her on.

    Thank you

  5. justmy2centsworth permalink
    April 12, 2007 11:45 pm

    Aren’t these kids still in 5th grade, regardless of their acting background? In fact to be in this situation they would need to have those skills to be calm etc.

    Justmy2centsworth

  6. Abby Book permalink
    May 2, 2007 4:08 pm

    How do I be a kid on Are you smarter then a fifth grader?
    I am 10 years old!

  7. May 6, 2007 3:39 pm

    Does anyone know if Spencer Martin has a screen name?! I really need it! I won’t ever bother him. He is in my school but I’m too shy to ask him.. Shhhh…. Don’t tell him!

  8. Jen Pace permalink
    June 1, 2007 4:10 pm

    Is Spencer Martin related to my buddy Ryder Nelson? I’m kind of wondering, because they look exactly alike, and is it true that Spencer has anemia?

  9. jomika permalink
    August 22, 2007 8:13 pm

    i really want to be on this show i am a very intelligant young lady i watch your show when ever it comes on. the questions seem quite easy and the adults struggle a little so i beg you please let me(jomika owens)be on your show it will make me proud of me, my family proud of me, and my neighborhood proud of me.

  10. Vale= permalink
    May 11, 2008 8:16 pm

    Marki was on the cover of American Girl Magazine.

Comments are closed.