Skip to content

Hey Corey, what happened to BUCKET?

November 11, 2007

UPDATE:  BUCKET is BACK!! Go visit BUCKETRemix.com for more details!!

I just got an e-mail in my BUCKET show e-mail account with one word in it:

“Podfade”

It made me really sad.

It’s now been two months since the last episode of BUCKET, the Podcast Awards-nominated comedy podcast starring me and my co-host Jen.

After 59 episodes of the show, 7 episodes of the all-music BUCKET Blast, and a few Nowhereville Concert Series shows in Second Life, it’s been a big hole in my life to have the show gone. I formally didn’t even get a chance to say goodbye to our listeners, since we did not do a formal final episode. I really regret that.

A lot has tried to fill that hole in my life … my increased work in my full-time career has helped keep me busy, and I’ve added a new part-time job to make a little extra moolah, but nothing I’ve done has been as personally fulfilling or exciting as doing BUCKET.

Over the past few months, I’ve tried to do a pilot of a new podcast based on life and pop culture on the Internet, based on the same themes this blog has followed over the past year, but nothing has worked or had the chemistry that my former co-host and I had. And the AKG Perception 200 microphone has remained cold since…
Someone in Second Life today asked me if BUCKET will ever start up again. Frankly, I don’t know.

If it does, I’d love to be part of it, and I would absolutely want Jen to be part of it too. It’s something that’s still deep down inside of us, and I would never say no to a “reunion” of the original BUCKET team. But then again, it takes two to tango (or do any other dance…except the Electric Slide, which takes a whole reception of people).

That same person in Second Life said, “Well, at least BUCKET went out on top.” And true that… it was on top in many ways. Thanks to Jen’s hard work on publicity and networking, we had tons of friends and group members, and it led to thousands of listeners each week. And I thought that we had some of our best episodes near the end of our run.

So, to sum up:

  1. BUCKET, is it over? Yes, for now.
  2. Would Corey come back to do BUCKET again? Yes, in a heartbeat.
  3. Do I miss BUCKET? Absolutely!

If you want to see a BUCKET reunion, send your e-mails to BUCKETpodcas(at)gmail.com. And until then, if it does, thank you all so much for being listeners of our piddly little comedy show. And as always… God willing … see you again soon.

Comments are closed.