Skip to content

“National Bingo Night” fallout: UGH!

May 19, 2007

OK, I admit I was so very wrong on this back in March. My friends at the BuzzerBlog pegged this one.

What a horrible show ABC’s “National Bingo Night” was Friday night.

BINGO hopper hugeness (ABC)Now, I didn’t get to watch the show live and I didn’t play along (because I left my printed cards at work … dum dum!) But I watched about 10 minutes of the show on TiVo, and it just feels lousy for a number of reasons:

  1. Yeah, the show is too slow. The producers try to do the whole suspense-building thing and it comes off as very annoying to the home viewer. And what’s the deal with that referee guy in the audience? He’s ridiculously tacked onto the cast, and serves no purpose other than to confirm the BINGO wins.
  2. It was over-edited! Every other camera shot had a voice-over dub edited in, and the contestant was edited looking at the ball hopper when he should have been looking at the caller girl and so on. It’s like the show’s video editor didn’t even watch the show! I don’t blame him/her either.
  3. I hated the mini-games for the contestants. It’s too random, and contestants don’t really have a chance to improve their odds. I’d rather see the main contestant play actual BINGO against the audience instead of a contrived game. And put up $1 million for a first-four-number BINGO by the contestant.
  4. Give the contestant the prizes they pull out of the machine, whether or not they win the mini-game. It’s lame otherwise to include those prizes in the hopper.

Any other ideas to save this dreck? I can’t see this show lasting much longer. It also pains me to see that we go from game-show royalty in Bob Barker’s 40th anniversary celebration the night before to this horrible game show attempt.

And worse, ABC has already bought SIX episodes! Enjoy it until the sponsor money runs out, people!

[UPDATE Saturday: The ratings are in … 3.7 rating/7 share for the debut.  Buzzerblog Alex, thanks for the notice, and yes, cancellation seems likely.

Though. will it join the exclusive club of 17 shows canceled after JUST ONE airing?  I bet it goes one more week before the ball drops on this bad idea.]

8 Comments
  1. May 25, 2007 11:06 am

    Well my biggest gripe is that they claimed that the last contestant of the first night had a “1 in 128” chance of guessing six right. The problem is that there are only 75 balls. So at any time it is impossible for her to have more than a 1 in 75 chance. Now for this game, she had to guess red or black. (It wasn’t stated, but I’ll assume that there somehow were an equal number of each ball color.) So she really had about a 50% chance the first time, and it got better as the game progressed. (In short, her correct guesses were all independent).
    Oh, and

  2. gordy campbell permalink
    May 25, 2007 3:15 pm

    I must be a Sucker…I had a 5 ball BINGO on the blue game on premiere night…I logged into abc’s site and posted the winning card’s number and lo and behold the screen announced “You are a Winner” it is now Friday May 25th and I have not even had the courtesy of an e-mail from abc..Well shame on me for playing… Gordo54

  3. H. Baer permalink
    May 26, 2007 12:50 am

    I totally agree. This BINGO show could have really been good, as suggested like playing coverall for 1 million bucks, or 4 corners, X and you get the idea for REALLY big money, but $10,000 at K-MART. Also getting fed up with “English” MC’s getting shoved down out throats he just DOESN’t cut it AT ALL!!! It moves TOO slow, and the STUPID “games” are confusing, and your sitting there at home like,”GET ON WITH IT!” Whet the HELL does a crossword puzzle have to do with BINGO? sombody PLEASE BEAT THESE GOOFS THAT COMEUP WITH THIS CRAP. The idea was a good one, but they screwed it up royally and it won’t last anoth week or two unless its “paid for” and they just let it run it episodes out. They could have had a LIVE BINGO GAME, and after ALL of the commercials that made it seem like it would be live and quick, WHAT A LETDOWN IT WAS!!!!

  4. James permalink
    June 3, 2007 4:10 am

    Pure bs! The way this is set up, it is next to impossible for HOME players to BINGO. But even if someone did, the ‘PRIZE’ (5 bucks worth at KMART, or some bs CD no one ever heard of!) wouldn’t even cover the cost of the INK wasted printing the damn ‘CARDS’! What a pile of crap!

    Jim

  5. James W. Feeley permalink
    June 3, 2007 11:09 am

    On June 1st game, Unable to complete game cards
    which were downloaded. Where can I get the numbers called? This would enable us to see how we did. Please let us know. Thank you.

  6. Chris permalink
    June 20, 2007 10:13 pm

    You can check the numbers called on the ABC website by 12noon the Saturday after the game. I think the game is fun, my kids are 9 and 7 and they can play too. It’s our family Friday night thing and we have gotten one Blue game Bingo!!

  7. June 24, 2007 7:39 pm

    This people whose whinning about the National Bingo Night had nothing else to do but complain they are just loosers so get a life please!!!!!!! leave the show alone if you don’t like it don’t watch it.

  8. Brenda Moore permalink
    July 18, 2007 11:11 am

    I had a winning bingo card in the blue game on the 22nd show. I haven’t seen the results of the winners of that episode. Sice I had BINGO. I would like to see who ACTUALLY ONE PLEASE.

Comments are closed.

