Skip to content

Millions of people still need iPods!

April 9, 2007

iPod ad (Apple)

Today, Ars Technica reported that Apple has cleared the 100 million units sold mark on their revolutionary music player, the iPod.

This means 200 million in the USA (at least) do NOT have iPods, and I think that’s a good goal for Apple to shoot for. Or at least, start with Michigan and work up from there.

Ars Technica quotes Steve Jobs:

“At this historic milestone, we want to thank music lovers everywhere for making iPod such an incredible success” said Steve Jobs in a statement. Apple also says that the iPod has sparked an “ecosystem of over 4,000 accessories” made just for the iPod.

I account for 3 of the units personally (and tons of accessories that no longer work with the new model of iPod) — a third-gen iPod, a Photo iPod and my current video model.

And I’m sure I’ll be jonesing for an iPhone and a high-capacity widescreen/touchscreen iPod when the time comes later this year.

**Gulp** … There goes another $1000 of my future unborn kid’s college fund.

3 Comments
  1. Diana permalink
    April 9, 2007 3:14 pm

    I’m one of those 200 million without an iPod… which is pretty sad.

  2. sassa permalink
    May 28, 2008 4:27 pm

    i hate ipods man there soo addictive

  3. January 20, 2009 7:40 pm

    well,ipods are addicting until u run out of battery…
    wat a coincedence,im listening to my ipod now. =)

Comments are closed.

