Skip to content

Kentucky Fried Hillary? Naaah…

March 5, 2007

I’m going to do something I usually don’t/won’t do. I’m going to defend Sen. Hillary Clinton. Yes, that’s right … but that gasp of shock was totally unnecessary.

Hillary Clinton in Selma, Ala. (AP)Sen. Clinton spoke at a Southern church this weekend, and an audio recording of her sermon speech detects some southern drawl in her voice.

Of course, Clinton is not from the South. She’s spent the past 15 years in Washington D.C. and New York state. So some bloggers are attacking her for faking the drawl just to get over with the local constituency. (yes, she lived in Arkansas while her husband was governor, but that was a long time ago.)

I have witnessed cases where certain area of the country change your vocal intonation. When I was in high school, I attended a week-long conference for Junior Achievement at Indiana University, where I was grouped with a large number of Australians.

By week’s end, I was developing an Australian twang to my voice. That, mixed with the Pittsburgh/western Pennsylvania dialect, was very entertaining to the other convention attendees. My mom noticed it while on the phone with me, and I worked to correct it on the bus ride home.

Though, for some reason, I had a hankering for Vegemite

So, by osmosis, it CAN happen that you speak with a drawl when visiting the South. Whether it was intentionally emphasized by Clinton during her speech for brownie points in Selma, Ala. … well, that’s for only her to know

3 Comments
  1. March 5, 2007 7:31 pm

    This happened to me when I moved to Virginia. I was only there for a matter of months, but ended up having the drawl, so to speak. It was odd, to say the least.

    As for Hilary, well, I like Bill. Her? Not so much, but I give her credit where credit is due.

  2. damewigginsoflee permalink
    March 6, 2007 11:37 am

    I want to hear her say ‘miz scahlett, miz scahlett, i dont know nuffin bout birthin no babies!’

    is it wrong?

Trackbacks

  1. Arkansassite.Info » Clarion Hotel and Conference Center in Bentonville Arkansas

Comments are closed.

