Skip to content

Photo: Digging out in Lancaster city

February 16, 2007

Chipping away (LNP)

This is what happens when the snow plow drives by too fast…poor girl! (just kidding, she’s digging/chipping out her car, not herself!)

PHOTO CUTLINE: Alexis Guthridge uses a hammer claw to chip ice from around her car in the 200 block of North Mulberry Street Thursday morning. (Lancaster Newspapers photo/ Richard Hertzler)

We can all relatethis snow (now frozen into a GLACIER!) is killer!   It’s like driving on the moon, since there’s craters of ice all over the place.

And speaking of driving on ice….Interstates 81 and 78 in northern Pa. is STILL closed and hundreds of motorists are stranded on the rock-hard snow-covered highway.  National Guard troops are trucking in supplies, food, and fuel to the motorists.

2 Comments
  1. February 16, 2007 11:30 am

    Nice photo but not a nice situation to be in! thanks for sharing!

  2. maryt permalink
    February 16, 2007 12:57 pm

    I had to do this yesterday and today. The snow is as hard as a rock and I, thinking I have front-wheel drive and nothing to worry about, got stuck. 3 nice guys came by and dug me out with steel shovels (plastic shovels stink in this weather) Today I had to chop ice-snow from in front of my driveway that the plows threw there. Grrrrr! And I’m in Queens, New York (New York City) Believe that! Wish I had a photo for you.
    My blog: http://maryt.wordpress.com

Comments are closed.

