Skip to content

MMV: Obama-mania, bouncing bear and 2 amazing basketball videos

February 12, 2007

Monday Morning Videos kicks off your day/week with some amazing basketball shots, some buzz from the Barack Obama announcement this weekend, and bears falling onto trampolines.

First, it’s official that Sen. Barack Obama is running for president in 2008, and if he can topple the Hillary Clinton juggernaut, he has a good shot at winning it all.

But one columnist, Debra Dickerson of Salon.com, questioned Obama’s “black” credentials (video here) on The Colbert Report last week, claiming that Obama’s ancestry did not come from West African slaves, so he’s not authentic “black.” (a ridiculous argument, in my opinion). Obama fired back on 60 Minutes, saying that if you look black in America, you are treated as such.

From Drudge:

When asked by Kroft if growing up in a white household had caused him to make a decision to be black, Obama replies, "I'm not sure I decided it. I think... if you look African American in this society, you're treated as an African-American.Ó "It's interesting though, that now I feel very comfortable and confident in terms of who I am and where I stake my ground. But I notice that... I've become a focal point for a racial debate," says Obama.

Saturday Night Live picked up on this debate, and featured impressions of the Rev. Jesse Jackson and Rev. Al Sharpton debating Obama’s “blackness”:

More video clips after the jump…


Next, a classic via YouTube … the bear falling out of a tree onto a trampoline:

And here’s two amazing basketball videos … first, two beat-the-clock shots in one game by Chicago State (the second from half-court):

And finally, a killer 720-spin dunk (possibly by the And1 Tour stars):

Comments are closed.

