Skip to content

100 INCHES of snowfall?! Just think of it…

February 8, 2007

New York record snow (AP)

Upper New York state could have 100 INCHES of snow on the ground after a round of storms coming its way this weekend. And a friend of mine who just moved to Barrie, Ontario, Canada said it’s coming down “in dumpsters of snow” up there on the lakes.   He’s in the snow-removal business … he’s definitely got the location for it!

That amount is INSANE! I can not even wrap my mind around the chaos that would occur if I woke up to 100 inches of snow at my front door.

Some of my early thoughts:

  • I would check the house’s Coke Zero supply, and start rationing if necessary. Also, make careful note of supply of Fudge Stripes, microwave popcorn and Hot Pockets.
  • “Can I telecommute to work today, boss?”
  • “What do you mean you CAN’T deliver my pizza in 30 minutes?”
  • If the DSL line goes out, we’re so screwed.
  • Can the cats be trusted to deliver message of “help” tucked in their collars to civilization if needed?
  • Can the cats be eaten in case of emergency? (Sorry Kula)
  • Would looking at my snow shovel make me laugh ironically? And would snow blowers be futile?
  • How long can I wear this pair of sweatpants and sweatshirt until I start to reek?
  • Since the snow would be higher than the windows, would I lose all sense of time in the darkness of my house/igloo?
  • Would I save on heating bills with the snow surrounding the house as insulation? I mean, hey, no more drafts blowing in. Actually, no more of ANYTHING coming in!
  • If I could get out of the house, I bet my roof would make a nice top of a sledding hill.
  • I bet I wouldn’t have to mow my lawn until at least Easter.
  • I bet my wife would get off my case about taking down the Christmas lights now (yes, they are turned off, at least!).
2 Comments
  1. February 8, 2007 12:23 pm

    You might want to get a 2007 OFFICIAL ‘It Sure Is Cold!’ GLOBAL WARMING SWEATSHIRT™. You can read about it at my blog. If you like it, share it with your readers.

  2. alei permalink
    February 8, 2007 10:10 pm

    “If I could get out of the house, I bet my roof would make a nice top of a sledding hill.”

    It certainly would! I’ve done this!

Comments are closed.

