Skip to content

AppleTV requires a widescreen TV?!

January 15, 2007

AppleTV

Yet another reason arises to bug my lovely wife to move forward with an HDTV purchase…

Podcast and marketing guru Paul Colligan posted late tonight that the new Apple TV (which he’s been looking eagerly towards getting) requires a widescreen television. This news straight from the Apple product site.

From the Apple site, here’s the spec info:

Apple TV works with widescreen, enhanced-definition or high-definition TVs capable of 1080i, 720p, 576p, or 480p resolutions

WOW! So that means my video podcasts won’t be streaming to my TVs, despite the fact that they mostly come in 4×3 format? I wonder why I just can’t hook up my component cables to it…

How fast can YOU cancel your AppleTV order? I did in a matter of minutes…

[UPDATE: From an Ars Technica post, with a hands-on opportunity with the AppleTV:

While I was in the Settings menu, I noticed that the only setting listed in the Resolutions menu was 720p. Was this just showing me that option because it was hooked up to a high-def set, or was that really the only option?

Jacqui: Is this HDTV only? Does it just scale down if hooked up to a regular TV?
Apple Employee: Yes, HDTV only. Yes, it just scales down on a regular TV.

Hmmmmmm…… so is that a “regular” widescreen? ]

Technorati Tags: , , , ,

Comments are closed.

