Skip to content

Nutrition, 2031: Soylent Green is yummy!

November 7, 2006

Soylent Green is made out of PEOPLE!!!  Milk chocolate GONE in 25 years?!?

Will the town of Hershey be a ghost town?

ABC Newsasked doctors and medical experts in a wide variety of specialties about advancements in their fields in the next 25 years” as part of Good Morning America’s “Future Now” series.

Here’s the damage picture:

  • Dark chocolate will make milk chocolate disappear, thanks to its health benefits.  Corey’s new favorite candy, the super-mega-dark-Hershey bar.
  • The optimal dose of vitamin E will be discovered.  So, will I have to stop my 2000 mg of Vitamin C per day?
  • Trans fat will have been eliminated entirely from the food supply. McDonalds’ french fry sales will tank and become black-market items.
  • Food-borne infections will have been drastically reduced by use of bacteriophages (viruses that attack bacteria) and radiation.  Yeah, like I need more microbes in my body.  But then again, I’m no fan of the E. Coli.
  • Food labels will have been revised to reveal at a glance the overall nutritional quality of any packaged food.  So, I hearby propose (and endorse) the “yummy, yet deadly” label … something like a Hostess Twinkie with a skull and crossbones on it.

  • Public school cafeterias will offer healthful foods in two categories: mixed diets and vegetarian.  That’s all I need…my pretentious 8-year-old “vegetarian” grandson/granddaughter refusing to eat their meat at dinner, talking down (or up, depending on their height) to me and Grandma about the horror of killing cows.  THANKS Public Schools!

[Nutrition, 2031: Dark Chocolate and Functional Foods]  (ABC News)

Comments are closed.

