Skip to content

Britney’s pics take web by storm

November 30, 2006

I almost feel like I need a shower after writing about this, but now that the Associated Press has covered the story, I feel it has new legitimacy.

Britney at the Teen Choice Awards (AP)When I started this blog earlier this month, some of the copy desk editors at the New Era chided me a bit for my fascination with the Britney Spears-Kevin Federline divorce saga.

They asked, “Why is this news?” and “If you’re doing an “Internet life” blog, why are you covering celebrity gossip?”

Granted, those copy editors that question my logic are in the over-40 crowd, and filter through “real news” everyday about war, politics, crime and other serious issues. Celebrity “news” is pretty much drivel to them, and I respect that. It’s cool. I get it.

But, if you look at my blogs’ traffic, most of my site’s visitors have come looking for three celebrity stories: My postings on Michael Richards and his infamous n-word rant at a L.A. comedy club and his subsequent apology, the Paris Hilton-Spears-Lindsay Lohanaxis of evil” in Vegas and my posts about Spears and K-Fed’s divorce.

Or is that now Fed-ex?

So now that the AP is on this story, I feel I can tackle the topic that the Internet and bloggers are abuzz about…

What is Spears thinking flashing her naked crotch around to photographers??!?!?

I mean, seriously!! And FOUR TIMES no less!!

Pink is the New Blog, a very good celeb-watching blog, has been keeping the flash count, and has a very good analysis of the … umm … well, “the situation.”

This whole trend of Brit “forgetting” to wear her undies is starting to be a tad damaging, in their view. Especially since “pelvis flash No. 4″ came while at a gas station. That further enforces her negative “trailer trash” stereotype. (Just watch an episode of the train wreck reality show she did with K-Fed, and you’ll see what I mean.)

More from Pink‘s on “the situation”:

The vagina slip has become just another Britney Spears cliche … but unlike her other famed trademarks (the ratty extensions, the scrunchies, the gum chewing, the bare feet), this new trend of hers just seems horribly damaging. The fact that these crotch shots come off more trashy than sexy should be troubling to Britney and prolly more importantly, her “people”. Larry Rudolph! Where are you?!

I realize that Britters is a grown woman (who has already been married twice and given birth twice) but she seems clearly incapable of making the right decision in any circumstance.

Kevin Federline can’t even be blamed for any of this. What has the world come to when K-Fed appears the lesser of two evils when compared to Britney Spears?! Okay … that might be taking it a bit far but she seriously seems set on flushing her career and certainly her image down the toilet. [Source]

And some insight from the AP’s Erin Carlson, about fan backlash:

But now, [Spears] is unleashing her inner wild child, running around with party girls Paris Hilton and Lindsay Lohan, sporting unflattering hair extensions and flashing her apparently panty-less crotch to the paparazzi. (Be prepared to cringe if you dare to view the uncensored photos, splashed unceremoniously across the Web).

“She’s a beautiful girl and now that she’s single and she’s having fun, I think she’s just trying to express herself,” said New York-based celebrity image consultant Amanda Sanders. “Unfortunately, it’s the wrong message that’s coming across. And the shame is she was really such a role model.” …

She’s enjoying the single life — and who can blame her after putting up with K-Fed’s antics? — but many Spears watchers disapprove of her decision to cavort with Hollywood’s most infamous heiress.

In a post on Spears’ MySpace.com page, a female fan urged Spears “to read this so you understand how your fans may see the situation … now your children need you so do the right thing brit, and be a mother and forget the partying.”

Rosie O’Donnell said Wednesday on “The View” that Spears should stop bonding with Hilton and move in with her, her partner Kelli and their kids so she could have a “stable family around her.”

Wow, Rosie, do you REALLY want that kind of “situation” for your kids?

Also, blogs like Perez Hilton (appropriately named!) and Memoirs on a Rainy Day have examined the Brit commando trend, and the traffic spike bloggers are receiving.

Perez Hilton’s blogger notes in an ABC interview that it’s likely Britney is using this wave of nakedness just to increase her fame and notority after being out of the limelight for a few years, birthing her two new children with what’s-his-name.

Of course, this blog and others refuse to print or link directly to the actual photos for ethical reasons. You have to go Google for them to find them for yourself.

So, for the copy desk editors reading this, shaking their heads and sighing at my story choice, I say: It was either this story, or an unique story on how to calculate Pi by throwing frozen hot dogs.

Yeah, I think you’d rather read about Britney too.

I can already envision the South Park guys writing up a Britney’s crotch vs. Oprah’s crotch storyline.

[UPDATE: More on Rosie's comments about Britney from MSNBC:

Barbara Walters then chimed in on Panty-gate asking Rosie, “When she’s staying with you, are you gonna get her to wear underwear?”

Rosie replied by asking a national lingerie chain for help. “Listen, I want to beg Victoria’s Secret to supply these women [Britney, Lindsay, Paris] with an unlimited amount of underwear. I’m begging you Victoria!” She pleaded before addressing the singer directly. “Mommy loves you. Call mommy Britney.”]

Technorati Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

LancasterOnline.com: Britney’s Crotch Shots Take Web by Storm

21 Comments
  1. pantydoctor permalink
    November 30, 2006 11:35 am

    Britney is famous, she has money, she only has to be pictured eating out with friends and the press will photograph her so why does she need to gain this type of publicity? I have the images of her in the black dress, it hardly covers her bum cheeks so to wear no panties she knew what the result would be. What I find hard to understand is if you walk naked down the street you would be arrested so what is the difference?

  2. November 30, 2006 1:09 pm

    I saw the pictures (accidenally, I might add) and wasn’t honestly TOO shocked. I just can’t believe I used to look up to this girl during my last years of elementary school. She was a different Britney back then, though.

    Poor girl…

  3. November 30, 2006 1:45 pm

    Pink’s view on Britney Spears is good.. Almost too good.. like, it’s a direct copy of Perez Hilton’s blogs. (Perez.. famous celeb blogger). Anyway, I write about Brit all the time too and I think she’s doing it just for media attention. How gross, huh!

  4. November 30, 2006 1:53 pm

    I sort of agree Shelby, but then again, a lot of bloggers parrot the same facts and opinions. I think Pink gave enough credit to Perez, though. After all, you link to posts that support your point, not detract from it.

  5. rgos927 permalink
    November 30, 2006 5:42 pm

    i too was fascinated (and appauled) by the whole brit-kfed thing. i think it’s all set up for publicity though. why she is hanging out with skanks like Lindsey and Paris is beyond me. i actually find myself saying “what about brit’s rep?” haha! j/k. she’s right where she should be, in the middle of a giant skank sandwich! :)

  6. November 30, 2006 7:13 pm

    Actually, to me this whole thing was a bit of a surprise. It took my wife to tell me about this whole crotch shot craze. Sounds like a desperate cry for help.

  7. December 1, 2006 2:25 am

    Is it really that big a deal? Seriously. She is more famous then you are and your blog. Isn’t it her right to do whatever she wants? She’s beautiful. Why not pay attention to her success then her ass.
    Look at Madonna. She was a lot worse, a cool pop singer, and she’s doing alright now. It comes with maturity. Everybody goes through their 20′s a bit tipsy and amateur.

  8. December 1, 2006 2:26 am

    One other thing. Tons of women, at least sexy, I know and go clubbing with wear no underwear. S**t, sometimes I like going boxer-less. The only difference is she is a celebrity and cameras won’t leave her alone. She isn’t crying for help or trying to a shot of her butt. S**t happens. peace -FN [Note: Edited profanities...please keep it clean folks, thanks.]

  9. December 1, 2006 7:02 am

    Ninja, thanks for commenting…but lets get one thing straight….
    A LOT of people are more famous than my blog. :-D

    Thank you for reading, though…

  10. December 3, 2006 12:27 am

    The joy of no underwear is something that Britney and her celeb-trainwreck buddy Mel Gibson clearly understand (parody video)

    http://markdaycomedy.wordpress.com/2006/12/03/britney-spears-mel-gibson-and-the-joys-of-no-underwear/

  11. Supreeth Rajan permalink
    December 5, 2006 2:43 am

    she is much better with the clothes on…. I just need her voice,songs not this…. EXTRA ENTERTAINMENT. or is she proving that she isn’t bothered about whats happening in her life… what she does is entertainment for some, nonsense for people like me.

  12. December 5, 2006 2:51 am

    ok…i came here because i have to admit that comments on my site referring to all this left me in the dark…i just don’t read the celeb stuff.

    but my curiosity was piqued and when i saw this post was one of the top commented on in wordpress i thought, ‘hmm, my opportunity to finally learn what everyone is talking about’.

    now that i do, i’m thinking, well, i’m up on a piece of pop culture now, but do i really want to flash back to the margaret trudeau ‘club 54′ era news?

    i’m torn, especially because i don’t even know who she was married to , for how long etc…..it’s very strange being out of touch on these things.

  13. December 5, 2006 7:04 am

    Harper, I’m totally with you. I’m just about ready to throw in the towel with the Britney news. But it fascinates me how much celeb news drives traffic on the Web.
    I think her fans’ reaction to all of this is surprising. They are desperately trying to defend her, but her wild-child ways are almost indefensible for a mother of two.
    Seriously, will Britney ever graduate to Mariah Carey or Celine Dion stature? I heavily doubt it. (Hmm….I smell another post coming…)

  14. December 6, 2006 5:58 pm

    I have always disliked Britney Spears (crappy music, crappy person) and I just find my views validated by her garbage whore behavior. It is time for the press and the public to start ignoring Miss Spears. She is just a sad loser with too much money on her hands.

  15. December 6, 2006 6:18 pm

    Secretgeek, trust me, we in the press are getting there…. sllooooooowwly. :-)

  16. December 30, 2006 7:46 am

    ich finde sie immer noch süß

  17. Jeff permalink
    November 2, 2007 12:36 am

    Whatever she is doing obviously is working, you are all(myself included) talking about her and thats what its all about kids, publicity, good or bad it all makes money

  18. December 29, 2008 2:53 pm

    she looks somewhere in the crowd, or she just blinks?
    i think she just kept her eyes opened…

  19. January 16, 2009 1:12 pm

    People are going on and on about the lack of ability to do background processing in an iPhone app. Gruber counters the flow (and may be right), but I can’t help but wonder if maybe Apple has something else up their sleeve?

    I may be out to lunch, but it’s possible that the iPhone’s TCP/IP stack (or its select equivalent) is able to hold connections open in an event-ish way. Really this is all that’s needed in most cases, some sort of continuity for applications like IM. Full background processing is a bad idea on a quality phone/mp3 player, but some sort of compromise may just do the trick.

    Here’s hoping Apple has something like this in mind.

Trackbacks

  1. Ich habe das Bild gefunden - Britney Spears lässt tief blicken « Peter Pan`s Blick in die Welt
  2. Britney FREE from rehab (Happy hour starts in 10 hours!) « Hard Drive Life

Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

